Five Southern Fish Species Listed as Endangered
Posted in Listing

On August 8, 2011, the Center for Biological Diversity (CBD) reported that the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service (Service) listed five fish species located in Alabama, Arkansas, Kentucky, and Tennessee as endangered under the federal Endangered Species Act.  The five fish species include the Cumberland darter (Etheostoma susanae), rush darter (Etheostoma phytophilum), yellowcheek darter (Etheostoma moorei), chucky madtom (Noturus crypticus), and laural dace (Chrosomus saylori).  All five fish species were previously identified on the Service's candidate list, which identifies species that qualify for listing, but whose final listing action is precluded by higher priority species.  The report by CBD states that the final listing action is a result of the recent settlement agreement between the Service, WildEarth Guardians, and the Center for Biological Diversity.  (For a discussion of the settlement agreement, please see our prior posts on May 11, 2011 and July 14, 2011.) 

The Service's listing determination states that the Service intends to propose critical habitat for the newly listed species within the "next few months."  

Twitter Facebook LinkedIn
Tags: Listing
  • Benjamin Z. Rubin

    Ben Rubin is chair of Nossaman’s Environment & Land Use Group. Ben assists developers, public agencies, landowners and corporate clients on a variety of complex land use and environmental matters. He counsels clients on matters ...

Nossaman’s Endangered Species Law & Policy blog focuses on news, events, and policies affecting endangered species issues in California and throughout the United States. Topics include listing and critical habitat decisions, conservation and recovery planning, inter-agency consultation, and related developments in law, policy, and science. We also inform readers about regulatory and legislative developments, as well as key court decisions.

Stay Connected




View All Nossaman Blogs
Jump to Page

We use cookies on this website to improve functionality, enhance performance, analyze website traffic and to enable social media features. To learn more, please see our Privacy Policy and our Terms & Conditions for additional detail.